Jan 26, 2024

Kick-off for Lífland's Champions League

Lífland's Champions League started off with a strong fourgait. Are you excited for the season?

Meistaradeild's fourgait podium in 2024

Jakob Svavar Sigurðsson and Skarpur frá Kýrholti won the fourgait - Photo: Carolin Giese (Lina images)

Yesterday evening,

Lífland's Champion's league (Meistaradeildin

) kicked off with a very strong fourgait!

Here is this season's schedule:

  • ​​Thursday 25, January - Fourgait V1
  • Thursday 8, February - Loose rein tölt T2
  • Thursday 29, February - Fivegait F1
  • Friday 15, March - Gæðingalist
  • Thursday 30, March - Pace test PP1 and 150m Pace race P3
  • Friday 12, April - Tölt T1 and Flying Pace P2

Horses of Iceland is very proud to count the Meistaradeild or "Champion's league" amongst its partners. This indoor competition series started in 2006 and has evolved a lot since as well as inspired the creation of various other leagues around the country.

On Thursday 8, February, Horses of Iceland will be inviting people to come and watch the loose rein tölt for free! If you are in Iceland, make sure to come by the

Horse Day

arena at Ingólfshvoll (

click here to get directions

). The house opens at 17.00 and the competition starts at 19.00.

For those of you who cannot make it on site, you can watch the livestream on Alendis TV.

What is the Meistaradeild?

The Master's league is an event in which up to 8 teams formed of 4 to 5 riders compete in the League. Each team is composed of professionals in the field, hence the name "Master's league"

8 tests are organised throughout the winter and each team selects 3 riders to participate in each test. Teams are allowed to use a so-called „wild card“ once during the winter. They can then select a rider outside the team as third rider for that particular test.

For each test, the 10 best riders collect points for themselves and their teams in the following way:

1st place gives 12 points, 2nd place give 10 points, 3rd place gives 8 points, 4th place gives 7points, 5th place gives 6 points, 6th place gives 5 points, 7th place gives 4 points, 8th place gives 3 points, 9th place gives 2 points and 10th place gives 1 point.

At the end of the season, the team and rider with the most points win.

This year's teams and riders:

Austurkot / Pula
  • Hanna Rún Ingilbertsdóttir
  • Jón Ársæll Bergmann
  • Ólafur Andri Guðmundsson
Ganghestar / Margrétarhof
  • Aðalheiður Anna Guðjónsdóttir
  • Ragnhildur Haraldsdóttir
  • Sara Sigurbjörnsdóttir

Hestvit / Árbakki

  • Glódís Rún Sigurðardóttir
  • Gústaf Ásgeir Hinriksson
  • Jóhanna Margrét Snorradóttir


  • Hans Þór Hilmarsson
  • Helga Una Björnsdóttir
  • Jakob Svavar Sigurðsson


/ Hest.is
  • Arnar Bjarki Sigurðarson
  • Ásmundur Ernir Snorrason
  • Viðar Ingólfsson

Top Reiter
  • Árni Björn Pálsson
  • Eyrún Ýr Pálsdóttir
  • Teitur Árnason

Þjóðólfshagi / Sumarliðabær
  • Bjarni Jónasson
  • Sigurður Sigurðarson
  • Þorgeir Ólafsson

We're extremely excited to see who the winners will be this year. Are you?